Grant Guidelines and Restrictions

Foundation grant support is available to:

  • Not-for-profit 501(c)(3) organizations
  • Organizations within geographic areas (listed below) where Dominion Energy provides electricity or natural gas service, or has significant facilities or business interests
  • Organizations that focus on education, environment, culture and the arts, civic and community development, and health and human services

Foundation grant support is NOT available to:

  • Individuals
  • Religious programs of churches or other sectarian organizations
  • Fraternal, political, advocacy or labor organizations
  • Projects or organizations that are not located within geographic areas where Dominion Energy provides electricity or natural gas service, or has significant facilities or business interests
  • Fund-raising events (dinners, lunches, etc.)
  • Golf tournaments or other sporting events
  • Organizations without 501(c)(3) tax-exempt status
  • Organizations that limit membership and services based on race, religion, color, creed, sex, age or national origin
  • Advertising for benefit or courtesy purposes
  • Travel-related events, including student trips or tours
  • Memorial campaigns

Dominion Energy does not typically fund university research projects or endow chairs. The primary interest of the Dominion Energy Charitable Foundation is to support programs and specific projects. Consequently, support of capital campaigns is limited and provided on an exceptional basis.

Geographic Areas

  • Colorado – Garfield, Moffat, and Rio Blanco
  • Connecticut
  • Idaho – Franklin
  • Maryland 
  • Massachusetts
  • New York – Albany, Alleghany, Cayuga, Chemung, Cortland, Erie, Herkimer, Madison, Monroe, Montgomery, Oneida, Onondaga, Ontario, Rensselaer, Schenectady, Schuyler, Seneca, Steuben, Tioga, Tompkins, Wyoming
  • North Carolina – The counties of Bertie, Beaufort, Camden, Chowan, Currituck, Dare, Edgecomb, Gates, Granville, Halifax, Hertford, Hyde, Martin, Nash, Northampton, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Pitt, Tyrell, Warren and Washington, and the cities of Roanoke Rapids and Weldon
  • Ohio – The counties of Allen, Ashland, Ashtabula, Auglaize, Belmont, Carroll, Columbiana, Cuyahoga, Geauga, Guernsey, Hardin, Holmes, Knox, Lake, Mahoning, Medina, Mercer, Monroe, Muskingum, Noble, Paulding, Portage, Putman, Shelby, Stark, Summit, Trumbull, Tuscarawas, Van Wert, Washington, Wayne and Wood
  • Pennsylvania – The counties of Allegheny, Armstrong, Beaver, Blair, Bucks, Butler, Cambria, Cameron, Centre, Clarion, Clearfield, Clinton, Crawford, Dauphin, Elk, Fayette, Franklin, Greene, Indiana, Jefferson, Juniata, Lawrence, Mercer, McKean, Potter, Tioga, Venango, Washington and Westmoreland
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • Utah – All counties with the exception of Kane and Wayne
  • Virginia
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming – Carbon, Lincoln, Sublette, Sweetwater and Uinta